

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT RECONSTITUTES TAX APPEAL TRIBUNAL

n Thursday the 12th of July 2018, the Federal Government of Nigeria, in accordance with Section 2(1) of the Fifth Schedule of the Federal Inland Revenue Service Establishment Act, announced the reconstitution of the Tax Appeal Tribunals (TAT) in the six geo-political zones in the Country including Lagos and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

The announcement which was made in a statement by the Honourable Minister of Finance explained that the tribunals would adjudicate over disputes arising from the operation of federal tax laws and regulations in the country.

According to the Honourable Minister, the reconstitution of the TAT is an essential part of building taxpayers' trust and confidence in the fairness of the system. She also noted that the Federal Ministry of Finance had selected competent persons as Chairmen and Commissioners of the tribunals who have been appointed based on merit from nominations from a number of professional bodies and stakeholders, including the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria, Association of National Accountants of Nigeria, the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria, the Nigerian Bar Association and the Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture.

The recent reconstitution of the tribunal comes three years after its last dissolution on Friday, 3rd June, 2016.

The newly appointed commissioners are expected to hold office for a term of three years from the date of appointment.

The appointees in the respective zones are:

1.	ABUJA TAX APPEAL TRIBUNAL	
S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Iriogbe Ayo Alice	Chairman
2	Prof. Ishola Rufus Akintoye	Member
3	Ajayi Julius Bamidele	Member
4	Dr. Almustapha Aliyu	Member
5	Nasiru Kuliya	Member
_		
2.	LAGOS TAX APPEAL TRIBUNAL	
S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Lassise-PhillipsOlanrewaju Moshood	Chairman
2	Dike Mark Anthony Chidolue	Member
3	Sanusi Maijamaa Ajiya	Member
4	Mrs Titilola Akibayo	Member
5	Rasaq Adekunle Quadri	Member
3.	NORTH-EAST ZONE TAX APPEAL 1	ribunal – Sitting in Bauchi, Bauchi State
S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Bagoni Alhaji Bukar	Chairman
2	Barr. Bashir Maidugu	Member
3	Adamu Ismaila	Member

4	Tijanayi Musa Isa	Member
---	-------------------	--------

- 5 Mrs. Nafisa Shehu Awak Member
 - 4. NORTH WEST ZONE TAX APPEAL TRIBUNAL SITTING IN KADUNA, KADUNA STATE

S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Umar Mohammed Adamu	Chairman
2	Isa Kabir Dandago	Member
3	Bayero A.S. Muhammad	Member
4	Abubakar-Gwandu Sameerah	Member
5	Dr. Ahmad M. Kumshe	Member
5.	NORTH CENTRAL ZONE TAX APPI STATE	EAL TRIBUNAL – SITTING IN JOS, PLATEAU
S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Barr. Richard Bala	Chairman
2	Barr. Emmanuel Seungwa Ukera	Member

- 3 Ogbaenyi Ivan Chikwendu Member
- 4 Abdul Zaidu Idde Member
- 5 Mrs. Atoki Dupe Member

6. SOUTH WEST ZONE TAX APPEAL TRIBUNAL – SITTING IN IBADAN, OYO STATE

S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Ajibola Akinmade	Chairman
2	Atitola Felix Bimbo	Member

3	Falade Sufian Alani	Member
4	Mrs. Queensley S. Seghosime	Member
5	Princess Elemanya Ebilah	Member

7. SOUTH EAST ZONE TAX APPEAL TRIBUNAL – SITTING IN ENUGU, ENUGU STATE

S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Chukwuemeka Eze	Chairman
2	lde John Udeagbala	Member
3	Anyaduba John Obiora	Member
4	Mazi Nnamdi Okwuadigbo	Member
5	Obri Francis Ogar	Member

8. SOUTH SOUTH ZONE TAX APPEAL TRIBUNAL – SITTING IN BENIN, EDO STATE

S/N	NAME	DESIGNATION
1	Odiase-Alegimenlen Obehi	Chairman
2	Ala Peters David	Member
3	Mrs. Hilda Ozoh	Member
4	Ajokwu Vitalis Friday	Member
5	Otusanya Olatunde Julius	Member

The above information is for educational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice by Blackwood & Stone LP. Readers are advised to consult

the services of a tax consultant in ensuring that tax liabilities under Personal Income Tax are accurately computed.

Contact

Blackwood & Stone LP

info@blackwoodstone.com

+234 903 3501 613